Monday, Wednesday, Friday: 10:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Tuesday & Thursday: 1:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday: 10:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
How do I get a library card?
Library cards are free to people who live within the city limits of Pittsfield, Illinois, but you will need to provide proof of your current address. Those who live outside Pittsfield city limits may use the library as well but have to pay a non-resident fee to check out library materials. A parent or guardian’s signature is required for patrons under the age of 14. Cardholders are responsible for items checked out and will be charged for lost or damaged materials. If your driver’s license or photo I.D. does not contain your current address, one of the following documents may be used, providing it shows your residential address:
- Utility bill (phone, water, gas, electric)
- Voter registration card
- Check book
- Bank statement
- Government check
- Pay check
- Property tax receipt
- Housing rental contract of current residence
- Mortgage documents of current residence
- An official letter or document from a state or local government agency, which is on the agency’s letterhead or contains the official seal of the issuing agency
- Letter or other documentation issued by the postmaster within the previous 30 days
- Other government document that contains the name and address of the applicant issued within the previous 30 days
Why do I have to pay a non-resident fee to borrow library materials if I live outside city limits?
Residents of Pittsfield, Illinois, pay a library tax but those who live outside of the city limits do not. If you own property within city limits but live outside city limits, you may bring in your tax bill to prove that you pay library tax and then do not have to pay a non-resident fee to use the library. Otherwise, non-residents are required to pay a fee to borrow materials. This fee can be paid yearly or broken up into smaller payments of every three months or every six months.
How long may I keep library items?
Books, magazine, and audiobooks can be checked out for two weeks, and videos can be checked out for one week. At the end of the checkout period, the items need to be returned to the library or you will start accruing overdue fines. If you are not through with the items and would like to keep them longer, you may call the library and ask for them to be renewed. Items can be renewed up to two times but only if there are no patrons on hold for those items and if they are not interlibrary loans.
How many times can items be renewed?
Items may be renewed up to two times if no one is waiting on hold for them and if they are not interlibrary loans. Interlibrary loan items cannot always be renewed so they will need to be used as quickly as possible. If you need an interlibrary loan item longer than two weeks, you’ll need to talk to a librarian.
What if the library is closed when I need to return my books?
We have a book return drop box located below the steps of the front door on the north side of the sidewalk. Items can be returned there even if the library is closed.
If the library doesn’t have a title I’m looking for, is it possible to borrow it from another library?
Yes. We are able to borrow many materials from other Illinois libraries with the exception of movies. We do not borrow movies from other libraries. If you have a title you’re looking for, please talk to one of our librarians and they can place the request for you. Depending on where the item comes from, it can take a week, two weeks, or longer for the item to arrive. We will then call you to let you know your interlibrary loan item has arrived and you will have ten days to pick up the item before it has to be sent back. Once checked out, you have two weeks before the interlibrary loan item has to be returned.
Does the library have e-books I can borrow?
Yes. We partner with other Illinois libraries to provide e-books to our patrons. Pittsfield Public Library patrons (with the exception of reciprocal patrons—talk to a librarian for more details) can access library e-books at http://alliance.lib.overdrive.com. You will need your library card number and a pin number. You can obtain these from a librarian along with instructions on how to download e-books to your device.
Does the library have overdue fines?
Yes. Items that are not returned or renewed on or before their due date begin to accrue fines at the rate of $0.10 per day per item. As soon as the item is returned, the overdue fines stop accruing and can be paid the next time the patron visits the library.
What does it mean if my card is blocked?
Library cards are blocked if you have overdue fines or bills for lost or damaged books that exceed $5.00. A blocked card prevents you from borrowing library items, borrowing e-books, or using our public access computers. Once the bill is taken care of, your library privileges are restored.
Can I make copies at the library?
Yes. We have a copy machine that patrons can make black and white copies on for $0.25 per page. We have a scanner printer that can be used for color copies at $1.00 per page.
Can I send faxes at the library?
Yes. Faxes can be sent or received at the library. We charge $1.00 for the first page and $0.50 for each additional page to send a fax, and to receive a fax, it is $0.25 per page. Our fax number is 217-285-9423.
Does the library provide lamination services?
Yes. The library has a laminator machine that can laminate items up to twenty-four inches wide. We charge $1.50 for items 8 ½ x 11” or smaller. $2.00 for items up to 11 x 17”. $3.00 for items larger than 11 x 17”. If you only have one small item to laminate, we may ask to hold the item until we have a few more items to laminate so as to prevent waste of lamination materials. Check with a librarian for further information.
Does the library accept credit card payments for non-resident fees, overdue fines, damaged or lost books, copies or faxes?
No. Unfortunately, we are not equipped to handle credit cards. Payment for services can be made with cash or by check.
Does the library have computers the public can use?
Yes. Library card holders are permitted to use our public access computers three times a week for an hour each time. Those without library cards can use the computers as a guest for a half an hour.
Does the library offer free wi-fi?
Does the library have genealogy and local history materials?
Yes. We have a good collection of Pike County history books, cemetery books, plat books, donated family histories, census records, some old school yearbooks, and microfilmed Pike County newspapers that start in April 1846. We do not have access to legal documents such as birth records, death records, marriage records, land records, and etc. Those are available at the Pike County courthouse.
Can I order and purchase books through the library?
No. Books can be purchased at the library when we are having a book sale, but we do not order books for patron purchase or resale.
Does the library have private meeting rooms for use by the public?
Unfortunately not, due to our limited space. Small groups interested in meeting or gathering at the library can use the tables located upstairs in our reference and genealogy area or downstairs in the youth library, but they will need to speak to a librarian about availability, scheduling, and permission.
How can I use the library if I am unable to climb stairs?
We have a sloped sidewalk that leads to a bottom door on the north side of the library. The entrance to this ramp is located in front of the building near the handicapped-parking space. Once inside the library, a lift is available to carry patrons to and from the top floor.
What is your DVD check-out policy?
DVD check-outs are limited to three DVDs per patron and are due back to the library in one week. Patrons must be at least 13 years old to check out a DVD rated PG-13.
What youth programs are available?
We have spring and fall Library Hour sessions for three to five year olds; Library Camp in the summer for grades K-5; a Summer Reading Program for youth from birth to 18; and a reading rewards program for grades K-13 during the school year.
What is the computer policy in the Youth Department?
The computers in the Youth Library are reserved for youth up to the twelfth grade and parents accompanied by small children. Youths eleven years old or in the fifth grade and those up to age eighteen must have a signed parental permission form to use the computers without adult supervision. Younger children must have adult supervision to use the computers.
Can Accelerated Reader tests be taken on library computers?
At this time, students must take their Accelerated Reader tests at their school.